5 QUESTIONS WITH LECTERN | Deheadment For Betrayal Review

Written by the_chelf@yahoo.gr

 

DEHEADMENT FOR BETRAYAL

…is probably the best album title they could come up with. Rules to live by, we stand by our chosen ones and disloyalty deserves deheadment if you ask me.

But let’s get to the music.

Lectern rose from the mosh pit of the late-nineties death metal scene just when everyone else was giving up on the genre. Luckily for us that is. They had their ups and downs and they survived by staying true to their musical values and refusing to compromise.

This album has everything it needs to stand against the test of time.

Is it something innovating and groundbreaking? No. But the minute you play the record you are taken aback by brutal vocals, chugging guitars and electricity that runs through your body.

If it’s an onslaught of heavy riffs and aggressive drumming that you are after you’ll agree that this one is a dark unpolished gem feeding on your head banging.

Perfectly macabre, relentlessly stormy, pushing the boundaries of a music genre that will never be a mainstream commercial success but will always have a loyal following due to albums like Deheadment For Betrayal, due to bands that keep the scene alive like Lectern.

I was having a chat with Fabio a few days ago he said something that stuck with me:

"We are just slaves of Death Metal"

Leals shall Kill and we’ll be there to witness the deheadment. Bless us father for we have sinned and we plan to sin again..

Do you prefer playing for small, more intimate crowds or for a massive but perhaps impersonal audience?

[Fabio]  It doesn’t matter, the main thing is to perform! Big or small audience, huge or small venues: we belong to our fans! You can feel the detachment playing in a big place: we were in Paris in a small club, full of people and crazy fans, they were so close to the stage, that they could be able to come up! I like to my play in atmosphere like this, with and for an insane crowd!

The band was formed in 1999 and since then the lineup has changed quite a few times. How do you as a band recover from that?

 The only thing that you want is to keep on playing, so this is the only solution! If you want something, you have to try harder, maybe through a huge stubbornness! It is not important how many line ups or people passed from here! The wish is the main thing, for new songs, new records and new tours! I think there is no limit to all of that!

You once opened for Sepultura and many other well-respected metal bands. Have you ever been embarrassingly starstruck?

 No, never! When you faced those who inspired you, giving a start to your band, there is no problem. Rather, you want more and you cannot be starstruck! I must also say that, Sepultura after Arise is not the same band I liked and followed, and I feel towards them no particular interest by now.

Do you guys have day jobs or do you solemnly focus on your career as musicians?

Both! I have a regular job, and I use all my free days for the band, and for my business too. I don’t suffer particularly this situation, I cannot hide that I would like to spend more time for Lectern, but it is not possible, at least in this moment.

What does the future hold for Lectern? Tours and a new album?

Just back from a European tour with Anal Vomit, after a short break we will be focused on the new songs! We also have a show with Avulsed.

 

Lectern was formed in 1999 with the intent of playing, old school brutal death metal with satanic lyrics.

The band comes from Rome, Italy. The inspiration came, within all the bands from United States, especially based in Tampa, Florida. As the 90’s were ending, and with the them the interest in death metal, Lectern tried since the very beginning of composing the music its member were up to listen to. The first studio effort came out in a bunch of months, with different musicians from many bands involved to that project. Gigs were made, but the interest in labels and promoters, was focused on other genres, and no more on death metal. Fabio Bava remained in the band, trying to recruit new musicians or session men. Only in 2008 and then in 2009 the interest in Lectern grew up once again, also with a good live activity.

So, in March 2010 the band entered Temple Of Noise studio, for recording Salvific Of Perhaps Lambent printed in Czech Republic by Gz Media. As three members left, in 2010 a new line up was built up again, also for the songwriting of new tracks. One year later, at the end of 2011 all crushed down again, but many concerts were made with other players, to face the duties with venues for commitments already agreed. Enrico Romano joined permanently the band in February 2012, actively participating in the reconstruction, which became effective in 2013 with the recruiting of Marco Valentine on the drums, and of Pietro Sabato on the second guitar. After rehearsing, in January 2014 a new self-entitled ep of three songs, was issued, and released with a concert in Finland at Helsinki at Prkl Club in February. The songwriting process of songs for a new album is in act, within the live activity. In October the band entered Outer Sound Studios, produced by Giuseppe Orlando for the new album Fratricidal Concelebration printed by Sliptrick Records, and distributed worldwide.

At the beginning of January 2015 Enrico Romano and Lectern went parting of the ways, the second guitarist Fabio Mariantoni entered the band in March. In July, Lectern opened for Angra and Sepultura. Fabio Mariantoni left the band in January 2016.

Lectern opened for Incantation in April during their European tour, supported by Skinned also from United States. Fabio Mariantoni left the band in January 2016. In April, the band opened for Incantation at Riga, in Latvia, for their European tour.

 In June was time for a new record, so Lectern hit The Outer Sound Studios. Giuseppe Orlando produced the new album

Precept Of Delator which features nine songs of brutal death metal for the Polish label Via Nocturna. September was the month that Gabriele Cruz joined the band on the other guitar role, and Lectern returned as a four elements band.

In March 2017 the band partook the Deadly Storm festival in Brazov, in Czech Republic. In May Lectern played at Helsinki Death Fest, in September headlined Rometal. In November, the band entered The Outer Sound Studios for the preproduction of a new album. In December the band opened for supporting Archgoat, and the recording sessions for the new album began.

Between January and February 2018, studio sessions were resumed and complete. Deheadment For Betrayal was released in April by Via Nocturna. Lectern embarked for an European tour with Anal Vomit, between June and July.

LINE UP

Fabio Bava: vocals, bass

Pietro Sabato: guitar

Gabriele Cruz: guitar

Marco Valentine: drums

 

 

www.lectern.rip

www.lectern.bigcartel.com

www.facebook.com/lectern666

www.myspace.com/lecternband

www.youtube.com/lectern

www.reverbnation.com/lectern

www.twitter.com/lectern666

www.soundcloud.com/lectern666

www.last.fm/user/lectern666

www.instagram.com/lectern666

lectern@mail.com

 

25 thoughts on “5 QUESTIONS WITH LECTERN | Deheadment For Betrayal Review

  1. dimis says:

    How come we never heard of these guys before? They are good!

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      That’s why I’m here mate 😉 You are welcome!

  2. sisca frost says:

    I appreciate the fact that he says he no longer likes sepultura. Honest. Great band Chelf thanks for introducing them to us.

  3. Pit says:

    the artwork on their album reminds me of something, I can’t put my finger on it right now.. Who did that? Anyway, they sound great, very powerful! We should go see them on their next tour.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Hey Pit. Thank you for stopping by. The art work is by Andreas Marschall.

  4. Icarus says:

    cool band. They seem genuine and that’s what matters. Up the hammers, keep playing metal.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      up the hammers Icarus. (do I detect a Manilla Road hint?)

  5. Oh my, that is QUITE the title for an album, clearly, there is some anger pent up within the musicians! LOL!

  6. I’ve never heard of these guys but I LOVE metal or rock, you name it! Have you heard of Deathklok? I love their show and music–my husband introduced them to me.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Metalocalypse?? You are my kind of people Jennifer 😉 Absolute, pure love!

  7. I haven’t heard of this band, but it’s not my type of music. Either way, it’s always interesting to hear about the bands and their thoughts on everything.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Yes! I love picking their minds! I get it that death metal might not everyone’s cup of tea but it’s always interesting to have a chat with the artists/musicians etc

  8. I have never heard of this band, but I am checking them out right now! I thought this was a really interesting interview and wish them the best in the future!

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Let us know what you think Patricia!

  9. This isn’t my typically preferred genre of music, but what a great interview! They seem like passionate musicians who enjoy what they do. Made me want to hear more!

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      passionate is accurate! This is exactly what makes Lectern so cool!

  10. This isn’t a band I was familiar with prior. They look pretty awesome though…I’ll have to give a listen.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      I bet you’ll love them Holly!

  11. I haven’t heard of this band! Im glad you were to get some good questions and answers from them.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Check them out, they are awesome!

  12. Stephanie says:

    Love the way you described the band and got to know them on a deeper level through this interview. I used to listen to alternative rock so this takes me back to those days that I would go to where my fave band would play just to see them live <3

  13. Everyone thinks I am a pop girl but I am secretly a death metal girl too. I didn’t know about Lectern beforehand but I have to check them out now! I might have to write about them too.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      Hi there! Unleash that metal vibes and go drop Lectern a line! I bet they’ll be super excited!

  14. Matt Falson says:

    interviews like this is the reason you have a kingdom my queen.

    • the_chelf@yahoo.gr says:

      thank you my lord.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *